Get the expert’s advice

Click to get the expert’s advice

Universities : About New Zealand

New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the south-western Pacific Ocean comprising two main landmasses (the North Island and the South Island) and numerous smaller islands, most notably Stewart Island/Rakiura and the Chatham Islands.


Having an approximate population of 179,446, Wellington is the capital of New Zealand.


Christianity is the predominant religion of the nation.


The total land area covered by New Zealand is 268,021 sq km.


The population of the country is about 4,115,771 (July 2007), comprising Europeans, Maori, Asians, Pacific Islanders and others.

System of government

New Zealand is a parliamentary democracy

Official Language

English and Maori are the official languages.


New Zealand is a parliamentary democracy


New Zealand experiences a temperate climate, having sharp regional contrast.

Units of measure and electricity

New Zealand uses the metric system and the electricity unit is 230 V, 50 Hz.

Time Zone

Local standard time is GMT + 12 (Day Light Saving Time is GMT + 13).


New Zealand Dollar (1 € = 1.77 NZD).

Travel documents required

Apart from Americans, Canadians, South Africans, Australians, and the Irish, all other nationals require a valid passport and visa.


New Zealand has a prosperous and well-developed economy with a very high standard of living. The economy is heavily dependent on trade. New Zealand’s key export products include agriculture, horticulture, fishing and forestry. The principal export partners are Australia, the US, China, Japan and the UK.

IPC Represents

Register Online