Get the expert’s advice

Click to get the expert’s advice

Universities : About Netherlands


The Netherlands is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which consists of the Netherlands. The Netherlands is a parliamentary democratic constitutional monarchy, located inWestern Europe. It is bordered by the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east.


The approximate population of Netherlands is 16,570,620 (July 2007 est.) with Dutch being the most dominant ethnic group.


The total land area covered by Netherlands is 33,883 sq km.

System of government

The government of Netherlands is constitutional monarchy.


Amsterdam is the capital of Netherlands and has approximately 743,030 inhabitants.


Thirty-one percent of the people are Roman Catholics, while thirteen percent are Dutch Reformed Protestants.

Official Language

Dutch and Frisian are the two official languages.


The government of Netherlands is constitutional monarchy.


Netherlands has a temperate climate, with cool summers and mild winters.


Euro and Dutch Guilder (1 € = 1.35 USD & 1 € = 2.20 NLG)

Time Difference

Netherlands is 3.5 hours behind India.


Netherlands has a well-developed open economy which depends a great deal on foreign trade. Transport and banking are other important aspects of Netherlands’s economy. Industrial activity mainly consists of food processing, petroleum refining,chemicals and electrical machinery. Netherlands is not a very expensive place, but with the advent of the Euro, prices have increased. A cost-efficient way of travelling in Netherlands is by trains.

IPC Represents

Register Online