Get the expert’s advice

Click to get the expert’s advice

Universities : About Cyprus


Cyprus officially the Republic of Cyprus is a Eurasian island country situated in the eastern Mediterranean south of Turkey, west of the Levant, north of Egypt, and east of Greece.

Cyprus is the third largest Mediterranean island and one of the most popular tourist destinations, attracting over 2.4 million tourists per year. A former British colony, it gained independ ence from the United Kingdom in 1960 and became a Commonwealth republic in 1961. The Republic of Cyprus is a developed country and has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004. It adopted the euro on 1 January 2008.

Capital cities

Nicosia Cyprus, known locally as Lefkosa (Turkish), is the capital and the largest city of Northern Cyprus.


9,250 SQ KM (of which 3,355 SQ KM are in north Cyprus.


National or official languages: Greek, Turkish. Republic of Cyprus, Kypriaki Dimokratia, Kibris Cumhuriyeti.


Greek Orthodox 78%, Muslim 18%, Maronite, Armenian Apostolic, and other 4%.

Currency in Cyprus

Cypriot pound (CYP)


Being the main commercial and industrial town in Turkish Cyprus, Nicosia manufactures textiles, leather, pottery, plastic, and other products.

Time difference

India is 2.5 hours ahead of Cyprus.


Cyprus is the hottest, driest island in the Mediterranean. It enjoys more sunshine than any other Mediterranean resort. The rainy season is from November to March, with most of the rain falling between December and February. The spring season is mild.

IPC Represents

Register Online